Stories with the Orchestra. In the memory of Gennady Rozhdestvensky


On July 03, 2018, the cycle of educational concerts of the State Symphony Orchestra of Russia "Evgeny Svetlanov" named "The Stories with the Orchestra" will be opened for the sixth time. This year, the cycle is dedicated to the memory of the conductor, the pianist and the teacher Gennady Rozhdestvensky (1931-2018)."The Stories with the Orchestra" concerts will be attended by the conductors Michail Jurowski, Vladimir Jurowski and Vasily Petrenko who will accompany the performances with fascinating culturological commentaries, as well as soprano Olga Peretyatko, bass Nikolay Didenko, violinist Akiko Suwanai. The works of W. A. Mozart, M. Mussorgsky, P. Tchaikovsky, S. Rachmaninoff, I. Stravinsky, S. Prokofiev, E. W. Korngold, D. Shostakovitch, B. Britten will be performed.


3 July

Mikhail Jurowski conducts and narrates

S. Prokofiev - Symphonic suite «Summer night»
W. A. Mozart - Motet «Exsultate, jubilate» for soprano and orchestra
S. Rachmaninoff – Vocalise, «Here is so nice», «Don’t sing, my beauty»
D. Shostakovich - Symphony No. 9

Soloist - Olga Peretyatko (soprano)
Konstantin Volostnov (organ)

6 July

Vladimir Jurowski conducts and narrates

M. Mussorgsky - Dawn on the Moskva River (orchestration by Dmitri Shostakovich)
M. Mussorgsky
 - «Without Sun», vocal cycle (orchestration by Edison Denisov)
M. Mussorgsky –  «On the Southern Shore of the Crimea. Gurzuf at Ayu-Dag», Piano Sonata for four hands, «Passionate impromptu» (orchestration by Yuri Butsko)
B. Britten - «Russian Funeral» for brass and percussion ensemble
D. Shostakovich - Symphony No. 11

Soloist - Nikolay Didenko (bass)


9 July

Vasily Petrenko conducts and narrates

P. Tchaikovsky - «Romeo and Juliet», overture-fantasy
E. W. Korngold - Violin concerto
I. Stravinsky - «Petrushka», ballet music

Soloist - Akiko Suwanai (violin)